call for entries 2017 - 30 year anniversary


Entries for the 30th annual ‘the churchie’ art prize are now open for a duration of 8 weeks, closing on Sunday 23 July 2017. ‘the churchie’ is a non-acquisitive art prize dedicated to supporting the nation’s emerging visual artists. The overall winner will receive a cash prize of $15,000 donated by long-time sponsor Brand+Slater Architects. Two highly commended awards of $1,000 each will also be awarded. 

The prize accepts all visual and fine art forms including installation, site specific and new media work. ‘the churchie’ has no restrictions on mediums or themes and encourages artists to explore and express their own personal experiences or perceptions about politics, religion identity and more.

A new curatorial model, developed in conjunction with QUT Art Museum (venue partner) in 2016, now provides the opportunity for artists to work closely with a professional curator to exhibit new artwork, bodies of work, or site-specific projects for the finalist exhibition. Therefore, artists may submit individual artworks or propositional ideas for new artwork at the time of application.

‘the churchie’ has provided artists with invaluable professional support and vital exposure to both the arts community and community at large. A long list of previous finalists, including such artists as Clark Beaumont, Daniel McKewen, Sam Cranstoun, Abdul-Rahman Abdullah and Ross Manning, continue to develop their practice and catch the eye of the nation’s top gallery directors and curators.

The judging panel will assess over 1000 artworks from across Australia to choose the best emerging artists of 2017. Finalists will be notified on Wednesday 19 July 2017 and their artwork/s displayed in the finalist exhibition opening on the 11 November 2017. 

The major prize and two highly commended awards will be announced at the Official Opening + Prize Announcement on Saturday 11 November 2017, open to the public from 5-7pm. The exhibition will continue until 17 December 2017. 


Image: 2016 Winner: Sara Morawetz (2016 Winner), How the Stars Stand (All Sols) and (Dear Nasa) (detail) 2016 , performance documentation. Courtesy of the artist.